All Things You Need to Know about Wipe Data/Factoy Reset

Wiping data or carrying out a factory reset on Android device is an effective solution for various issues on your Android phone. Even if you are contemplating selling your phone and you need all your device data to be wiped out, you carry out a factory reset. But, before you proceed, what’s important is to understand about wipe data/ factory reset, because clearly, if you don’t, you might end up losing all your important data before it is backed up, serving no purpose. So, before you wipe data/ factory reset Android, here’s what you should know about it.

Part 1: What data will be wiped by Wipe Data/Factory Reset?

Doing a factory reset on the Android device will remove all the applications installed on the device along with the data associated with them. This brings back all the default settings of the device as it was when the phone was new, giving you a clean slate to start all over again.

wipe data factory reset

Since Wipe data/factory reset deletes all applications, app data and information (documents, videos, images, music, etc) stored in the internal space, it is required for you to perform a data backup operation before you reset the Android device to factory settings. However, wipe data/factory reset does not affect the SD card in any way. So, even if you have the SD card inserted with videos, images, documents and any other personal information in the Android device while carrying out a factory reset, everything will remain safe and intact.

Part 2: How to perform Wipe Data/ Factory Reset?

Performing wipe data/factory reset on your Android device is very simple. It is a matter of time before you wipe out everything lying on the internal storage of your Android device. Here’s how you can perform Wipe data/ Factory Rest on your device:

Step 1:

First of all, turn off the device. Then, use the volume up button, volume down button and Power button on your Android device simultaneously and hold on to the buttons until the phone turns on.

boot in recovery mode

Step 2:

Release the buttons when the device is powered on. Now, use the volume up and down button to sift through the options given on the screen. Use the power button to select “Recovery Mode” on the screen. Your phone will restart into “Recovery Mode’ and you will find the below screen:

Step 3:

Holding the power button down, use volume up button and the Android system recovery menu will pop up.

recovery mode

Now, scroll down to “wipe data/factory reset” option from the list of commands and use Power button to select it.

Now, scroll down to “Yes – delete all user data” using the volume button and then push the power button to select.

delete all user data

In some time your device will be reset into factory settings with all your data erased. The entire process will take few minutes. Ensure that you have the phone at least 70% charged so that it does not run out of charge mid way.

Part 3: Does Wipe Data/ Factory Reset wipe all your data?

There are various instances where you would require performing a wipe/factory reset on your device. It might be because of some glitch that you would like to troubleshoot on your Android device. Wiping data from the phone is a universal solution in such cases. Even in cases where you want to sell your device, performing a factory reset seems the best option. What’s important is to make sure you don’t leave a trace of your personal information on the device. Therefore, wipe data/factory reset is never the ultimate solution to rely on. It is neither the best option anyway.

Contrary to conventional thought of relying on wipe data/factory reset Android believing it to be the best solution for wiping out complete data from phone, all research outcomes have proved something different. It is easier to recover account tokens used to authenticate you when you enter a password for the first time, from service providers like Facebook, Whatspp and Google. Hence it is easier to restore the user’s credential as well.

So, to protect your privacy and completely wipe data of the device, you can use dr.fone - Android Data Eraser. This is an amazing tool which erases everything on the device without leaving an ounce of data in it. Here’s how you can use dr.fone – Android Data Eraser to completely wipe the data and protect privacy:

dr.fone toolkit - Android Data Eraser

Fully Erase Everything on Android and Protect Your Privacy

  • Simple, click-through process.
  • Wipe your Android completely and permanently.
  • Erase photos, contacts, messages, call logs and all private data.
  • Supports all Android devices available in the market.
Available on: Windows
3981454 people have downloaded it

Step 1: Install and launch dr.fone – Android Data Eraser

First of all, install dr.fone on your computer and launch it by double clicking on the icon. You will find the below window:

launch drfone

You will find various toolkits on the interface. Select, Data Erase from various toolkits.

Step 2: Select the Android device

Now, keeping the tool open, connect the Android device to the computer using a USB cable. Ensure that the USB debugging mode is enabled on the device for p[roper connection. You might even get a pop up message on the phone asking to confirm if you would like to allow USB debugging. Tap on “OK” to confirm and continue.

connect the phone

Step 3: Start the process

Once the USB debugging is enabled on your device, dr.fone toolkit for Android will automatically recognize and connect your Android phone.

phone connected

Once the Android device is detected, click on “Erase All Data” button to start erasing.

Step 4: Confirm complete erase

In the screen below, in the text key box, type “delete” to confirm the operation and proceed.

comfirm the delete

dr.fone toolkit for Android will now start performing the operation. It will erase all the data on the Android device. The whole process will take few minutes to complete. So, don’t disconnect or operate the device while phone data is being erased. Moreover, ensure that you don’t have any phone management software on the computer, the Android device is connected to.

erasing data

Step 5: Perform Factory Data Reset on the Android device

After dr.fone toolkit for Android has completely erased app data, photos, and other data from the phone, it will ask you to perform a “Factory Data Reset” on the phone. This will completely erase all system data and settings. Perform this operation while the phone is connected to the computer and dr.fone.

factory reset

Tap on “Factory Data Reset” on your phone. The process will take some time and your Android device will be completely wiped.

erasing complete

This will protect your privacy as your Android device will reboot into default settings with all the data erased.

Since the erased data cannot be recovered, it is highly recommended to have all the personal data backed up before performing an operation here using dr.fone.

Hence, today we learnt about wiping data and also factory reset. Well as per us, using dr.fone toolkit is the best option as it is a simple and click through process and helps you completely erase data from your Android. This toolkit also is the best as it supports all Android devices available in the market today.

They're downloading

dr.fone - Recover (Android)

dr.fone - Recover (Android)

Recover deleted data from Android devices, SD cards and broken Android devices.

dr.fone - Backup & Restore (Android)

dr.fone - Backup & Restore (Android)

Backup data on your Android devices easily and restore backup files selectively to any device.

Product-related questions? Speak directly to our Support Team >>

Hot Articles
Home > How-to > Reset Android > All Things You Need to Know about Wipe Data/Factoy Reset

All TOPICS

Top